Towards a PhD: A Meeting

KruYing
1 min readMay 1, 2019

--

Day 30, Year 2: 4/29/2019

I was pretty well prepared for the meeting.

As planned, I went to the meeting with Jan in at noon. As usual, we spent about an hour and fifteen minutes discussing the research instrument design. This time I had submitted the student questionnaire, the lecturer interview questions and showed Jan the systematic observation schedule. That was a great amount of work to cover and discuss. Overall, the meeting was productive. I had my questions answered and all doubts were gone after the meeting. Jan gave me constructive feedback both verbal and written alogn with her suggestions on the instruments. I felt so relieved after the discussion knowing that I have been on the right track so far.

Also, we spent a good chunk of time planning for the trip to Thailand. Jan told me that she just found out recently that she has about 60% Thai origin according to a website. Apparently, that made Jan and I even more excited about the trip.

At the same time, there are many things I have to do in terms of planning and working, especially my research instrument design and development.

5/1/2019 10.51 pm.

--

--

KruYing

INFJ - educator - applied linguist #YouMeandYork #TowardsaPhD